Africans in America—PBS. America's journey through slavery is presented in four parts. For each era, you'll find a historical narrative, a resource bank of images, documents, stories, biographies, and commentaries.
American Folklife Center—Library of Congress. The center contains a collection of oral histories from throughout American history.
American Presidency Project—University of California, Santa Barbara. This archive was established in 1999 as collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The archive contains 98,871 documents related to the study of the Presidency.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy—Yale Law School. The Avalon Project is a collection of seminal primary sources in the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Documents cover the time period from ancient Greece to modern United States. There is the ability to browse the project by “Document Collections.”
Calisphere—University of California. This is a collection of primary sources that focus on the role of California in the American experience. The collection is fully searchable, and browsed by theme or title.
Chronicling America—Library of Congress and National Endowment for the Humanities. Chronicling America searches America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 from throughout the United States. Chronicling America also has a U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Connecticut Digital Archive—A program of the University of Connecticut in collaboration with the Connecticut State Library. A digital collection of over 15,000 digital primary sources about Connecticut.
Documenting the American South—University of North Carolina. Documenting the American South is a collection of digital primary sources on southern culture and history. Useful collections include: First-Person Narratives of the American South, North American Slave Narratives, and the Southern Homefront, 1861-1865.
Early Americas Digital Archive—University of Maryland. The archive is a collection of digital sources and an index to primary sources from 1492 to 1820. Users can search the collection or browse by title or author.
Founders Online—Over 181,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects. Documents from and to George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams (and family), Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison, and other early Early Americans.
George Washington Papers—University of Virginia. The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition encompasses the five separate series and the complete diaries in one online publication. You may search by full text and date, author, or recipient across all volumes and series.
Google Book—The Google Book Project is a collaboration between Google and twenty universities to digitize large portions of their print collection. Books that fall outside of copyright (pre-1923) are viewable in full-text.
HathiTrust—This digital library is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
HBCU Library Alliance—This digital library is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of primary sources from Historically Black Colleges and Universities.
James Madison Papers—University of Virginia. To date, the project has collected nearly 29,000 copies of documents related to Madison's life, including letters, essays, notes, diaries, account books, ledgers, wills, legal papers, and inventories.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience—New York Public Library. This collection presents more than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps. The site is organized around thirteen defining migrations that have formed and transformed African Americans and the nation.
Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web—Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Library and Archival is an index of online history exhibits. There are over 5,800 searchable exhibits. The exhibits are international and contain a large collection on European History.
Library of Congress—Providing access to the general collections of the Library of Congress, searching here can find resources from many different aspects of U.S. History. General keyword searching is default. Under "Formats" you can limit to certain types of materials, including Legislation, Periodicals, Photos, and more.
Library of Congress American Memory Project—This project focuses on many different aspects of U.S. History. There are over fifty collections that are found electronically. There is the ability to browse “Collections by Title” and “Collections by Subject.”
Literature & Culture of the American 1950s—University of Pennsylvania. This is an index of a wide variety of primary sources that just focuses on the 1950s in America.
Media History Digital Library—The Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
Medicine and Madison Avenue—Duke University. Over 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
National Archives and Records Administration—NARA contains over 10 million images and a collection of documents that is so large that it could be wrapped around the earth 57 times. Some of this information is found electronically. NARA exclusively focuses on U.S. History. The NARA collection is searchable through the Archival Research Catalog (ARC).
National Museum of American History (Smithsonian)—The collection focuses on social and cultural U.S. History. The Smithsonian links to NARA collections and other archives. Subsets include the National Museum of American Indians and the Anacostia Museum & Center for African-American History.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery—This collection is only second in size to the American Memory Project. However, most of the collection contains images. There are some full-text electronic resources.
Making of America—University of Michigan. Making of America is a digital library of American 19th century books and journal articles. There are a total of 9,500 full-text books and 50,000 journal articles. The main focus of the library is on social history. The user is only able to search by keyword.
OLAster—OCLC. Cataloged from 575 institutions, this is the largest index of electronic archival material. The user is able to search by Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). The index links to the collection's documents.
Our Documents—National Archives. An interactive collection of 100 milestone documents in American history.
Salem Witch Trials: Documentary Archive and Transcription Project—University of Virginia. An electronic collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records.
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive—University of Virginia. The archive is a digital collection of video and audio primary sources, which cover topics on U.S. public policy. There is an added focus on the U.S. Presidency.
United States Constitution: Primary Documents in American History—Library of Congress. This web guide provides links to multiple primary source collections covering topics on the U.S. Constitution, including U.S. Congressional documents and records from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention.
Veterans History Project—Library of Congress. The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.
Women Working, 1800-1930—Harvard University Library. Women Working contains thousands of items that cast light on women's history. The result is a unique virtual collection, comprising over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs.
