U.S. History Resources: Primary Source Databases

A collection of newspapers that includes The New York Tribune (1841-1922), The Chicago Defender (1909-1975), The Washington Post (1877-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-2003), The Los Angeles Times (1881-1996), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Boston Globe (1872-1989), The Hartford Courant (1764-1995), and the British publications The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003). Off campus access available.

Provides full-text coverage from 1851 to 2002. However, there is a minimum of 5 articles per day, per user between the years 1923 to 1980. Users must create an account to access TimeMachine.

Return Users: Visit nytimes.com/passes to re-validate your log in for the new school year. Click: Already have an account? Log in here. Enter your Loomis email address, password, and click: log-in. You will be sent an email to re-validate your account.

New Users: Visit nytimes.com/passes and click: Create Account. Enter your Loomis email address, create a password, and click: Sign Up. You will be sent an email to validate and start your account.

Study significant periods in American history through a timeline-based interface. Complete editions from hundreds of U.S. newspapers provide primary source content covering eras such as the Revolutionary War, Civil War, World War I, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, World War II, Civil Rights Movement, Vietnam War, Information Age and more.

Includes over 1,500 digitized American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the beginning of the 20th century. Off campus access available.

Provides a digital archive of news media of African American history with coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through the present.

Provides online access to the printed record of early America, featuring books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers and government publications. The Archive of Americana contains these collections: Early American Imprints, Series I and Series II, 1639-1819, Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876, American State Papers, 1789-1838, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899, and American Broadsides and Ephemera. Off campus access available.

Provides over two million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Its community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Off campus access available.

Features full-text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.

Provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly by CQ Press since 1923. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. Off campus access available.