Interpreting Political Cartoons. History Skills. Interpreting a visual source, like a political cartoon, is very different to interpreting words on a page, which is the case with written sources. Therefore, you need to develop a different set of skills.
For off-campus access to databases, log into the student portal, select the Resources tab and see KBL Electronic Resources with Usernames and Passwords under Katharine Brush Library Resources.
British Cartoon Archive. University of Kent. The collection is is dedicated to the history of British cartooning over the last two hundred years. The BCA holds the artwork for over 200,000 British editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons, supported by large collections of comic strips, newspaper cuttings, books and magazines.
German Propaganda Archive. Calvin University. This archive contains a collection of cartoons from Fliegende Blätter and Lustige Blätter both weekly German humor magazines. Also, the archive contains cover cartoons from Julius Streicher’s magazine Der Stürmer. Streicher, one of Hitler’s earliest followers.
Propaganda and the Visual Arts in the Third Reich. Yad Vashem-The World Holocaust Remembrance Center. A lesson plan that contains a collection of German political cartoons from the 1930s and other visual arts pieces.
World War II in Asia. MIT. Contains a map cartoon "Great East Asian Co-Prosperity Sphere" from a 1943 in a Japanese propaganda booklet.
Krokodil Magazine. Containing Russian cartoons from first two World War II editions of the illustrated Soviet satirical magazine Krokodil, published only days after Hitler's invasion on the Soviet Union on June 22, 1941.
Russia, America, and the Conspiratorial Worldview. Origins. An exhibition of political cartoons and caricatures, curated by historian Stephen Norris and cartoonist Boris Efimov whose extraordinary career from 1922 to 1991 illustrates the ways in which the Soviet Union saw the conspiracy of the West.
Dr. Seuss Goes to War. UC San Diego Special Collections & Archives. This collection contains two hundred political cartoons from when Dr. Suess was the chief editorial cartoonist for the New York newspaper PM. The cartoons are arranged by year, people, places, issues, and battles. Collection with a Chinese theme, Indian theme, and Japanese theme.
Editorial Cartoons of World War II in Europe. Ohio State University. A lesson plan that contains a collection of United States political cartoons that focus on the European theater.
Five Examples of Anti-Japanese Propaganda During World War Two. HistoryHit. Examples of how the United States regularly employed crude racial stereotypes in the service of ridiculing and demonising their Japanese opponents.
Photo, Print, Drawing. Library of Congress A collection over 900 editorial cartoons from the Prints and Photograph Division; Cartoon Drawing Collection, and Herblock Cartoon Drawing Collection. Also, from the Library of Congress: Pointing Their Pens: Herblock and Fellow Cartoonists Confront the Issues Exhibition.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers are a collection of newspapers that includes The New York Times, The New York Tribune, The Chicago Defender, Wall Street Journal, The Los Angeles Times, The Boston Globe , and The Hartford Courant. To search for political cartoons, go to the advanced search, limit document type to "editorial cartoons," limit date range, and add search terms.
