World History: World War II: Poetry

Discovery Search

Library Databases

Brush Library YouTube Channel

Research and Citation Guides

NoodleTools

For off-campus access to databases, log into the student portal, select the Resources tab and see KBL Electronic Resources with Usernames and Passwords under Katharine Brush Library Resources.

National Emergency Library. The Internet Archive. A collection of over 30 books on poetry during World War II. Students need to create a free account to views these titles full-text. Titles include:

• Foss, Michael. Poetry of the World Wars. London: Michael O'Mara Books Ltd, 2013.

• Gardner, Brian, ed. The Terrible Rain: The War Poets, 1939-1945 : An Anthology. London: Methuen, 1966.

• Hamilton, Ian. The Poetry of War 1939-45. London: Ross, 1965.

• Reilly, Catherine. Chaos of the Night: Women's Poetry and Verse from the Second World War. London: Virago Press, 2007.

• Shapiro, Harvey. Poets of World War II. New York: Library of America, 2003.

Poetry of World War II. Poetry Foundation. A collection of poems from and about the Second World War arranged and chronologically.

World War II Poets. Poetry Foundation. A collection of poems A selection of poets who served in the largest conflict in human history. The poets are organized by country of origin.

WW2 People's War Project: Poetry. BBC. The aim of the project was to collect the memories of people who had lived and fought during World War Two on a website; these would form the basis of a digital archive which would provide a learning resource for future generations.