AP Chinese - Leisure Arts - Modern and Classical Languages

Internet Resources

Chinese Leisure Studies
Flickr: The Commons
Google Books
The Google Book Project is a collaboration between Google and twenty universities to digitize large portions of their print collection. Books that fall outside of copyright (pre-1923) are viewable in full-text.
Google Scholar

New York Times
Provides full-text coverage from 1980 to the present. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut

Wikimedia Commons
Public domain and freely-licensed educational media content.

Martial Arts & Other Chinese Leisure Arts

Kung Fu Begin with reference materials to establish your understanding of a topic, or to do quick investigations of definitions or topics. Use the reference section in the library, use databases, and use PeliCAT (the library's catalog) to find print and e-books. Ask your teacher and your librarians for help if you are having trouble finding adequate and/or useful resources!

Two of the Shaolin Temple Grand Masters of the 31st Generation, Shi Deru & Shi Deyang. They are the close disciples of the Great Grand Master Shi Suxi

Image from Wikimedia Commons

Databases

Academic Search Premier
A peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary database with full-text access from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 17,000 journals, including full text for nearly 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
History Reference Center
Features full-text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
JSTOR
Provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,600 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines. JSTOR includes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and primary source materials. Off campus access available.
Project Muse
Contains complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses with over 650 journal titles, which focus on the humanities and social sciences. Muse also contains over 11,500 ebooks with a focus on ecology, evolution, global studies, history, literature, philosophy, and religion. No off campus access available.