LibGuides: Modern and Classical Languages: Chinese

Magazines & Newspapers

Beijing Review
In English.
People's Daily
In Chinese.
Shanghai Daily
In English.
Xinhuanet
Daily in Chinese and English.

News

Google News - China Edition
In Chinese.
World News
In Chinese.

Subject Headings in Pelicat

Search in PeliCAT by Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Print Resources

The Katharine Brush Library has Chinese language print resources, available in the Reference section and in the second floor stacks, including:

Basic Chinese Vocabulary. Eds. Jerome P. Hu and Stephen C. Lee. Lincolnwood, IL: Passport Books, 1992. Print. PL 1455 .B32 1992

McNaughton, William and Li Ying. Reading & Writing Chinese: A Guide to the Chinese Writing System. Boston: Tuttle, 1999. Print. PL 1495 .M3 1999

The Oxford-Duden Pictorial English & Chinese Dictionary. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988. Print. PL 1423 .O94 1988

Databases

Academic Search Premier
A peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary database with full-text access from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 17,000 journals, including full text for nearly 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
ARTstor
Provides over two million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Its community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Off campus access available.
Biography Reference Center
Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 430,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
Britannica Academic Edition
A general encyclopedia with high quality comprehensive information. The articles are written by scholars and experts in a given field. Articles contain images and links to additional electronic material. Off campus access available.
Ebsco eBook Academic Collection
A full-text eBook database containing material from scholarly presses and other leading publishers. This multidisciplinary database contains more than 170,000 eBooks, including titles from leading university presses. Off campus access available.
History Reference Center
Features full-text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.