Books
Duus, Peter. The Japanese Discovery of America: A Brief History with Documents. Boston: Bedford Books, 1997. E 183.8 .J3 J353 1997
Heine, Wilhelm, and Frederic Trautmann. With Perry to Japan A Memoir. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1990. DS 881.8 .H452513 1990
Livingston, Jon, Joe Moore, and Felicia Oldfather. Imperial Japan, 1800-1945. New York: Pantheon Books, 1974. DS 803 .L57
Websites
EuroDocs—Brigham Young University. EuroDocs is a wiki of European History primary sources. EuroDocs is similar to Humbul. Resources are arranged by area or country. Once in a particular country, the resources are then broken down by era.
Google Book—The Google Book Project is collaboration between Google and twenty universities to digitize large portions of their print collection. Books that fall outside of copyright (pre-1923) are viewable in full-text.
HathiTrust—This digial library is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Library of Congress American Memory Project—This project focuses on many different aspects of U.S. History. There are over fifty collections that are found electronically. There is the ability to browse Collections by Title and Collections by Subject.
Making of America—University of Michigan. Making of America is a digital library of American 19th century books and journal articles. There are a total of 9,500 full-text books and 50,000 journal articles. The main focus of the library is on social history. The user is only able to search by keyword.
Modern History Sourcebook: Imperialism—Fordham University. This site provides a linked index of imperialism primary sources. This includes the primary sources:
National Archives and Records Administration—NARA contains over 10 million images and a collection of documents that is so large that it could be wrapped around the earth 57 times. Some of this information is found electronically. NARA exclusively focuses on U.S. History. The NARA collection is searchable through the Archival Research Catalog (ARC).
