LibGuides: English I: Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass

cover narrative of the life of frederick douglass

Find resources here for your research project on the Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass.

Begin with reference materials to establish your understanding of a topic, or to do quick investigations of definitions or topics. Use the databases listed below and use PeliCAT (the library's catalog) to find print and e-books.

Ask your teacher and your librarians for help if you are having trouble finding adequate and/or useful resources!

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary database with full-text access from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 17,000 journals, including full text for nearly 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the printed record of early America, featuring books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers and government publications. The Archive of Americana contains these collections: Early American Imprints, Series I and Series II, 1639-1819, Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876, American State Papers, 1789-1838, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899, and American Broadsides and Ephemera. Off campus access available.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
contains over 700,000 in-depth and original biography profiles plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 430,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
A general encyclopedia with high quality comprehensive information. The articles are written by scholars and experts in a given field. Articles contain images and links to additional electronic material. Off campus access available.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A database with over 875 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauri. Credo also contains over 200,000 images and audio files and nearly 100 videos. Off campus access available.
Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS) This link opens in a new window
Searches a majority of the Brush Library resources and databases, including PeliCAT, simultaneously in a single interface, and displays results in one unified list. Users have the ability to limit their search to books, eBooks, academic journals, and other resource types. Off campus access available.
Ebsco eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text eBook database containing material from scholarly presses and other leading publishers. This multidisciplinary database contains more than 170,000 eBooks, including titles from leading university presses. Off campus access available.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
GVRL is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Features full-text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of newspapers that includes The New York Tribune (1841-1922), The Chicago Defender (1909-1975), The Washington Post (1877-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-2003), The Los Angeles Times (1881-1996), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Boston Globe (1872-1989), The Hartford Courant (1764-1995), and the British publications The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003). Off campus access available.

PeliCAT

PeliCAT is the online catalog of the Katharine Brush Library.

Internet Resources

Chronicling America: African American Newspapers From the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Digital Public Library of America
Flickr: The Commons
Hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.
Frederick Douglass Papers The Library of Congress presents the papers of the nineteenth-century African American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher. The online collection, containing approximately 7,400 items (38,000 images), spans the years 1841-1964, with the bulk of the material dating from 1862 to 1865. Many of Douglass’s earlier writings were destroyed when his house in Rochester, New York, burned in 1872.
Internet Archive
Wikimedia Commons
Public domain and freely-licensed educational media content.

Library Resources

Discovery Search

Library Databases

Brush Library YouTube Channel

Research and Citation Guides

NoodleTools