LibGuides: English III: Annotated Bibliography

Peer Review Process

"Peer review: process whereby experts in a given field help judge the value of a relevant work or ideas that they were not part of creating. The primary function of peer review is gatekeeping—selecting the best from a pool of submissions."

Definition from Britannica Academic Edition

PeliCAT

PeliCAT is the online catalog of the Katharine Brush Library.

Annotated Bibliographies

"A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources."

Definition from Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL), Purdue University

Databases

Academic Search Premier
A peer-reviewed multi-disciplinary database with full-text access from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 17,000 journals, including full text for nearly 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. Off campus access available to Connecticut public library card holders and individuals located in Connecticut.
Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS)
Searches a majority of the Brush Library resources and databases, including PeliCAT, simultaneously in a single interface, and displays results in one unified list. Users have the ability to limit their search to books, eBooks, academic journals, and other resource types. Off campus access available.
JSTOR
Provides access to archival and current issues of more than 2,600 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines. JSTOR includes scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and primary source materials. Off campus access available.
Project Muse
Contains complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses with over 650 journal titles, which focus on the humanities and social sciences. Muse also contains over 11,500 ebooks with a focus on ecology, evolution, global studies, history, literature, philosophy, and religion. No off campus access available.
Scribner Writers Series
Contains more than 2,000 original, scholar-signed bio-critical entries average 15-20 pages each. They include a concise overview, hyperlinks for cross-referencing and information that places the author's work in personal or historical context. Off campus access available.

If you are off campus and the database provides access click here for instructions on accessing databases from off campus.